Co-funded by the EU, AfricaConnect3 builds on the work carried out by the EUMEDCONNECT (2004-2015), AfricaConnect (2011-2015) and AfricaConnect2 (2015-2019) projects, which have all contributed to supporting the creation and roll-out of affordable, high-capacity research and education networks (RENs) in Africa.

During the first two phases of AfricaConnect, 20 countries were connected to the three African regional networks:

Background - UbuntuNet AllianceUbuntuNet Alliance: Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

WACRENBackground - WACREN: Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria and Togo.


ASRENBackground - ASREN: Algeria, Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia.

Skip to content