Regional and national support bodies

This page details regional and national support bodies for the AfricaConnect3 project. Follow the links below to find out more about each one.

African Union - Regional and national support bodiesThe African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).

European Commission - Regional and national support bodiesThe Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA) is responsible for for formulating the EU’s international partnership and development policy, with the ultimate goal to reduce poverty, ensure sustainable development, and promote democracy, human rights, and the rule of law across the world.

League of Arab States - Regional and national support bodiesThe League of Arab States is a regional organisation formed on 22 March 1945. The main goal of the league is to “draw closer the relations between member States and co-ordinate collaboration between them, to safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and to consider in a general way the affairs and interests of the Arab countries.”

Union Monétaire Ouest Africaine - Regional and national support bodiesThe Union Monétaire Ouest Africaine (UEMOA) was established with the treaty signed in Dakar on 10 January 1994 by the Heads of State and Government of seven West African countries using the CFA Franc in common.

Skip to content