African ​NRENs

Across the three regional clusters delivering AfricaConnect3 in the field, there are currently 38 national research and education networks enrolled in the project.

Expand the menus below to read more.

UbuntuNet Alliance

Eastern and Southern Africa
Botswana Research and Education Network (BotsREN)
Prof. Shedden Masupe
smapue@bitri.co.bw

​Burundi Education and Research Network (BERNET)
Dr. Gregoire Njejimana
c/o University of Burundi, P.O. Box 1550
Bujumbura, Burundi
Tel: (+257) 77502182
gregoire.njejimana@ub.edu.bi / gnjejimana@gmail.com

Democratic Republic of the Congo (Eb@le)
Prof. Pierre Kasengedia
Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et Universitaire
Boulevard Colonel TSHATSHI, N° 6-8
B.P 5429 KINSHASA/GOMBE, RDC
République Démocratique du Congo
Tel: +243 812900520
pierre.kasengedia@ista.ac.cd

Ethiopia Research and Education Network (EthERnet)
Dr Zelalem Assefa
Tel: +251911731830
zelalem@ethernet.edu.et
www.ethernet.edu.et

Kenya Education Network (KENET)
Prof. Meoli Kashorda
University of Nairobi, The Jomo Kenyatta Memorial Library, P.O. Box 30244 00100, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: (+254) 732150500 / 703044500
info@kenet.or.ke
www.kenet.or.ke

Madagascar Research and Education Network for Academic and Learning Activities (iRENALA)
Mms Harinaina R. Ravelomanantsoa
Porte 201 – Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique – Fiadanana
Tel: +261 (0) 34 02 004 27 / +261 (0) 32 40 004 27
www.irenala.edu.mg

Malawi Research and Education Network (MaREN)
Mr Solomon Dindi
C/O University of Malawi, P.O. Box 278, Zomba, Malawi
Tel: (+265) 995 148 626
ceo@maren.ac.mw
www.maren.ac.mw

Mozambique Research and Education Network (MORENET)
Dr Erminio Jasse
770 Patrice Lumumba Avenue, Maputo, Mozambique
Tel: +258853004015
erminio.jasse@inage.gov.mz
www.morenet.ac.mz

Rwanda Education & Research Network (RWEDNET)
Eugene KARANGWA (CIO)
University of Rwanda
Tel: +250788866047
cio@ur.ac.rw / karangwa1973@gmail.com

Somali Research and Education Network (SomaliREN)
Mr Abdullahi Bihi Hussein
202 Muna Building, Taleh Street, Hodan District, Mogadishu, Somalia
Tel: +252 612697979
info@somaliren.org
www.somaliren.org

Sudan Research and Education Network (SudREN)
Mr. Waleid Elmobarak
Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, P.O. Box 2081, Khartoum, Sudan
Tel: (+249) 111444466 / 19695950
waleid.elmobarak@sudren.edu.sd / waleid.elmobarak@mohe.gov.sd

Tertiary Education and Research network of South Africa (TENET)
Duncan Greaves
House Vincent, Wynberg Mews, 10 Brodie Road, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
(+27) 217637140
ceo@tenet.ac.za
www.tenet.ac.za

Tanzania Education and Research Network (TERNET)
Mr Stephen Lukindo
P.O. Box 95062, Kilimahewa Road, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Tel: +255715295774
stephen.lukindo@ternet.or.tz

Research and Education Network for Uganda (RENU)
Nicholas Mbonimpa
House No. 31, The Edge, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda.
Tel: (+256) 393 516521
info@renu.ac.ug
renu.ac.ug

Zambia Research and Education Network (ZAMREN)
Stein Mkandawire
School of Education Building, 1st Floor, West Wing, P.O. Box 32379, Lusaka, Zambia
Tel: +260-211-295928 / +260-953-526977 / + 260-955-761566
mkandaws@zamren.zm
www.zamren.zm

Zimbabwe Research and Education Network (ZIMREN)
Miriam Chahuruva
15015 Ganges Roas, Belvedere, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: +265774101509
mpchahuruva@hit.ac.zw
www.zimren.ac.zw

WACREN

Western and Central Africa
Réseau Béninois d’Education et de Recherche (RBER) / Agence pour le développement du numérique (ADN)
Marc-Andre Loko
maloko@presidence.bj

​Association Nationale d’Education et de Recherche du Burkina Faso (FasoREN)
Dr. Telesphore Tiendrebeogo
tetiendreb@gmail.com

Réseau Interuniversitaire du Cameroun (RIC)
​Mr. Hans Melaine Gwet Bi Kona
gwet.hans@freenet.de

Tchad Research and Education Network (TchadREN)
Dr. Zaki Sabit
zakisabit@gmail.com

Réseau Ivoirien de Télécommunications pour l’Enseignement et la Recherche (RITER)
Dr. Abdou Maiga
abdou.maiga@mesrs.edu.ci

​Réseau d’Education et de Recherche du Gabon (GabonREN)
Contact details for this NREN are not available now. If you wish to contact them, please send mail to ceo@wacren.net copying cmo@wacren.net.

​Ghanaian Academic and Research Network (GARNET)
Mr. Lucas Chigabatia
c/o Vice Chancellors Ghana, P. O. Box LG 25, Legon, Accra
ceo@garnet.edu.gh

Ghana Research and Education Network (GhREN)
Benjamin A. Eshun
NCTE Building, Tertiary Education Complex, East Legon, Accra 7
Tel: +233-26-432-1957 6
beshun@ghren.net.gh

Reseau National D’education Et De Recherche De Guinee (Gn-REN)
Mamadou Kodiougou Diallo
1147 Conakry, Guinée
+224 628 101 950
mkodiallo@yahoo.fr

Liberia Research and Education Network (LRREN)
Dr. Darren Wilkins
wilkinsdd@ul.edu.lr

Réseau national d’éducation et de recherche du Mali (MaliREN​)
Pierre Claver Bakoroba Traore
+223 76028660 / +223 61356411
pcbako.traore@usttb.edu.ml / pcbtraore@gmail.com

Niger National Research And Education Network (NigerREN)​
Dr. Ousmane Moussa Tessa
secretariat@niger-ren.ne

Eko-Konnect Research and Education Initiative (Eko-Konnect)
Mr. Owen Iyoha
owen@eko-konnect.org.ng

​Nigerian Research and Education Network (NgREN)
Dr Joshua A. Atah
Peter Okebukola Building, National Universities Commission, No. 26 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria
Tel: +234 803 314 5148
jaatah@ngren.edu.ng

​Réseau pour l’Enseignement Supérieur et la Recherche du Sénégal (snRER)
Contact details for this NREN are not available now. If you wish to contact them, please send mail to ceo@wacren.net copying cmo@wacren.net.

Sierra Leone Research & Education Network (SLREN)
Thomas Philip Songu
Njala University, Njala Campus, Private Mail Bag, Freetown, Sierra Leone
+232 79453322
tsongu@njala.edu.sl / thomas.songu@slren.edu.sl

​Réseau d’Education et de Recherche du Togo (Togo-RER)
Dr Palanga Eyouleki Tcheyi Gnadi
Centre Informatique et de Calcul/Université de Lomé
BP 1515, Lomé Togo
Tel: +228 90 17 12 60
venant.palanga@togorer.tg
www.togorer.tg

ASREN

Northern Africa

Algerian Research Network (ARN)
CERIST (Centre de recherche sur l’Information Scientifique et Technique)
Mme Aouaouche El-Maouhab
Rue des Trois Frères Aissiou, Ben-Aknoun, Algiers, Algeria
Tel: (+213) 2325 5408 / (+213) 2325 5395
www.arn.dz

Egyptian National Scientific and Technical Information Network (ENSTINET)
Mr Majid M. AlSadek
101 Kasr El-Aini St., 12th Floor
Tel: (+202) 27920126 / (+202) 27964421
enstinet@gmail.com
www.sti.sci.eg

Moroccan Academic and Research Wide Area Network (MARWAN)
Mr Redouane Merrouch
Angle avenues des FAR et Allal El Fassi, Hay Ryad, B.P. 8027 N.U., Rabat 10102, Morocco
Tel: (+212) 5375 69800 / (+212) 6601 07531
merrouch@gmail.com
www.marwan.ma/index.php/en/

Computing Center Al Khwarizmi (CCK)
Mrs Saoussen Krichen
University Campus of the Manouba 2010, Tunisia
Tel: (+216) 7160 2840 / (+216) 9868 4096
saoussen.krichen@cck.rnu.tn
www.cck.rnu.tn

Skip to content